Blossoms – Cool Like You

After exploding onto the scene in 2016 with a banger-filled debut, Blossoms captured the hearts of so many people. They were the most exciting new band for months, and it was understandable why. They have such an exciting energy about them and a really unique sound to set it off.

Having now established themselves, their follow up feels like it’s come around so quickly. “Cool Like You” is like an extension of their first album (which is generally how a second album works, I guess). Difficult second album? WHERE? “Cool Like You” has just stuck two fingers up to that stereotype.

It’s delicious indie pop with a nice dusting of 80s synths – honestly has anything ever sounded better to you? The song embodying this new twist is “Unfaithful”, which on first listen reminded me of “Tainted Love”. I fully realise that this is unlikely to be everyone’s first comparison, but there was just something about it and I still can’t place it now, just a general vibe.

If it isn’t glaringly obvious, I can’t get enough 80s (give me shoulder pads and legwarmers and I’m good to go). When I heard the title track I was bloody overjoyed. Now, bear with me, it kind of sounds like New Order covering Abba, now this may seem like a strange combo, but goddamn it works.

My intent isn’t to make this album out to be some kind of cheese-fest. Accompanying these heavily retro feeling songs are some properly heartfelt moments. However, I feel like the synth-packed upbeat formula that they seem to be following can at times eclipse how vulnerable, sweet and intelligent their lyrics are. Tom Ogden truly can write a bloody song.

Listening to the acoustic versions of songs like “Stranger Still” and “Between The Eyes”, it becomes obvious that these songs have so much more potential than they’re being given credit for on the actual album. The lyrics are painfully relatable “When I check my phone, it’s always for you” has got to be a feeling that everyone knows. “Stranger Still” has become a song filled with false positivity and it could have been pure art. It’s good, it just could have been amazing. It just feels like a shame that they seem to have followed a formula to get radio plays when anyone would be head over heels for the acoustic version.

This album is still fabulous, it’s a welcome return to form for Blossoms, They’re clearly such  a talented band. I can only hope the records keep coming.

Leave a comment