Positivity

After reading over all the things I’ve written on here, I realised that it probably looks like I’m trying to suck up to people and overly positive.

I’m not.

I genuinely love and appreciate everything I write about, and that’s why I decided to start writing about stuff, in the hopes that maybe some people will read it and then listen to it and love it as much as I do and it will make them as happy as it makes me, and that will bring the people I write about a little bit more exposure. I think everyone that I’ve written about is insanely talented and that they deserve so much more recognition than they get right now.

If I personally am not a fan of someone or I don’t like their music, I’d rather just not write about it. I think it’s better to let someone who loves and understands it give their opinion on it and tell other people about it. I just feel like there’s already so much hate and negativity in the world all the time, and I don’t really want to add to that at all. I think people forget sometimes that music is a type of art, and that song that you hate is something that someone has put their hard work and time into, and as pathetic and cheesy as it sounds it’s someone’s heart and soul. What music someone likes is completely subjective, and it doesn’t seem fair just to slate something because I don’t really get it.

I’ve read negative reviews where someone has just gone in on an album/artist and it’s just made me really sad. The one that really sticks out in my mind was the NME review that gave Tom Odell’s Long Way Down a 0/10 and just absolutely slated it, now don’t get me wrong, he’s completely entitled to his opinion (which I heavily disagree with BTW) and I know people rely on outlets like this for people’s honesty, but I don’t understand how someone can seriously rate a piece of art 0/10. I know there is a difference between a constructive review and a negative one, and constructive reviews can probably be great for artists to read to understand what people think would take them to the next level, but just being horrible about what someone’s worked hard to do is just mean.

So, that’s why I probably sound like a massive suck up all the time, but I’m not. I’m just saying my opinion.

Leave a Reply

