5 Songs for This Week 31.07.17

I went back to uni this week and the long (made longer by the fact that I refused to buy anything but an off-peak ticket because I’m a cheap student) journey meant I had ages to do nothing but listen to music. I’ve found some songs that I’ve really enjoyed and they’ve been a bit more upbeat – which I’ve been loving in the warmer weather.

Too Good – Marsicans

As the title suggests this song is too good to be ignored. These northern lads hit the nail on the head time after time with their upbeat-indie-pop, and Too Good follows this trend. They’re also supporting Clean Cut Kid on their October Tour, and after seeing both these bands at Barn on The Farm, I’m buzzed for this tour. It’s definitely worth adding this absolute bop to your playlist.

Evelyn – Clean Cut Kid

Marsicans lead nicely onto Clean Cut Kid. This is by far my favourite song on their album, which his full of some amazing tracks. This is a beautiful song that lead singer Mike wrote for wife – and bandmate – Evelyn (obvs). It has gorgeous, thoughtful lyrics and it’s catchy as hell.

Barcelona Girl – Corella

This is one of those songs I found after browsing through related artists for hours on spotify and boy, do I love it. This is an indie summer anthem if ever I’ve heard one. It’s sweet but kind of tropical vibes have me going crazy and I can’t get enough of it, pretty sure I’ve listened to it 10 times a day since first hearing it.

Craving – Zach Said

This is  such a tune, but possibly a bit different to what I normally listen to. He has such an individual sound that’s so different from anything I’ve heard in a long time, I’d possibly describe it as a mix between Jack Garratt and Mac Demarco. It’s so interesting to listen to and I can’t wait to hear what else he has to offer.

Even If It’s a Lie – Matt Maltese

This is one of his older songs but DAAMN I love this. I went through a phase a while ago where I listened to this all the time, and I’ve just remembered how much I bloody love this and how talented of a songwriter he is. It’s an insanely beautiful piano backed ballad and honestly it’s an amazing shower song, well it’s an amazing song in its own right but particularly in the shower.

Leave a Reply

